I once “under-reported” my degree of competitiveness in an annual review with my boss. It was one of the few times I ever saw her laugh.

Fine. I’m competitive. But when asked to self-assess how competitive I was what came to mind was the kind of take-away competition that is ultimately limiting and possibly destructive.

Competition can actually be healthy, even if one party benefits more in the outcome. And that brings me to the false debate over where advertising dollars are best spent. Not the best media strategy mind you. No, it’s the industry nattering that pits one platform against the other. As in, TV as an ad medium is dying and marketers “must” move dollars to online, mobile and elsewhere.

That zero sum philosophy was on self-serving display in remarks by Yahoo’s executive vice president of the Americas, Ross Levinsohn, which he delivered at the Interactive Advertising Bureau “The Future of Display” conference this week. His comments, reported in Direct Marketing News, keep alive the false competition among media platforms for advertisers.

I share my comment to the article reporting Levinsohn’s POV here, and invite you to share your opinions as well:

Rather than being the either-or proposition so often predicted but yet to come, we’ll eventually come to understand that entertaining content will be the connective tissue that links TV with digital advertising once and for all. I imagine a time – once preconceived constructs are laid to rest – when quality content moves seamlessly across platforms. Perhaps in ways modified to take best advantage of each platform, yet consistent and compelling no matter where it is experienced. Smart advertisers and marketers will dismiss all this ad dollar take-away thinking and begin crafting content that works where audiences chose to engage.

